RSS Feed

Pasta Edwina al Fresco!

Pasta Edwina al Fresco!

Fresh ingredients and herbs bring me to a place in Northern Italy. Although I have never travelled there, it has always been my life-long dream to travel to Italy to experience the rich history, culture and food. I love to cook and use a lot of Italian and Mediterranean influences in my recipes, I can only imagine how much I could enhance my cooking ability by experiencing the real thing! Imagine flavours rich in history like the land that surrounds. Healthy, quick and low fat this recipe is perfect for a light summer dinner. Bursts of flavour in each bite will bring you back for more! Enjoy with a light white wine and crusty Italian bread.

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic crushed
  • 1 pinch red pepper flakes
  • 1 shallot sliced thinly
  • 1 ounce Philly Cream Cheese (l prefer light)
  • 2 anchovy fillets finely chopped
  • 4 ounces arugula roughly chopped
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil, finely chopped
  • 1 cup mixed cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup pitted greek olives or similar
  • 1/4 cup fresh grated parmesan
  • 1 ground pepper to taste
  • 1 pound angel hair pasta

DIRECTIONS

  1. Heat olive oil in saute pan
  2. add garlic, red pepper flakes, shallot and anchovy
  3. saute until garlic and shallots are translucent on med heat
  4. add cream cheese and continue to cook on low until flavours combine and sauce is rich
  5. stir in Arugula, basil, tomatoes, and olives stir only to coat
  6. cook angel hair pasta until al dente, strain
  7. add pasta to saute pan and toss ingredients together until well distributed. If required, add a bit of the pasta water
  8. serve immediately with fresh grated parmesan and ground pepper, Enjoy!
About Carina aka Edwina Cooks

My name is Edwina Dahling! I am the alter ego of Carina. I'm so very happy to make your acquaintance. I’m not a chef, not a master of much..but I do know how to feed the masses with food that tempts even the greatest critics palates so I’ve been told! I decided to start a blog after many have told me to WRITE IT DOWN! Okay Okay..I’ll write them down, if I don’t forget what I put in the pot by the time I post! My latest adventure in my culinary travels has been to eat to reduce pain and inflammation in the body. No gluten, no sugar, no dairy. I will create my own recipes as well as blog about the experience of living with chronic Lyme disease or other auto immune issues. Cheers and hears to great health! NO TO GMO!

4 responses »

  1. You are amazing. I’m so excited for you and your new blog!

    Reply
  2. Good luck with your new blog…your recipe sounds great.

    Reply
  3. Good luck with the blog shweety. This looks delicious. I may give it a try

    Reply

Leave a Reply

