RSS Feed

Coke Roast

Coke Roast

Helloooo Lads and Lasses! Edwina here again, did you miss me dahlings?

So today’s recipe is one of our favorites. I’m asked over and over again to share this one. So sit back,  read and drool! Okay, don’t drool, you may make your keyboard seize dahling.

Now this isn’t what you would call a conventional recipe, but so far I’ve never been known to be much of a conventionalist. Believe me, if you try this recipe, you’ll be uber loved by all you serve it to. They will think you slaved for days and really you still had time to paint your toenails (okay maybe not the men, unless that’s a fancy of yours!)

COKE ROAST (yes, I said COKE!)

3-4lbs Good quality Beef Roast (Rib or Prime Rib, don’t skimp!)

Rub ingredients 

1 tsp each salt and pepper

1 T paprika (sweet or smoked)

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp thyme

1 tsp mustard powder

1 tsp each onion powder and garlic powder

Worcheshire sauce (enough to cover roast)

2 cans of Coke (not imitation, do not substitute for low cal dahlings)

1 pkg good quality brown gravy mix (I’m not Martha!)

1/3-1/2 c cream

Heat oven to 425 degrees F.

First off rub the worcheshire sauce over the whole roast. Mix all dry herbs together to make dry rub. Pat generously all over the meat.

Place the roast into roasting pan with no higher than 3 inch sides (or else you boil the meat rather than a good crust).

Roast the beef for 30 mins at high temp, then lower the temp to 350 F. When you lower the temp, take the roast out and

pour the Coke around the meat. Make sure there is enough to cover the bottom of the pan fully.

Note: If the coke dries out during cooking, add more if needed.

Place the roast back into the oven and cook until medium rare. I always depend on my thermometer to help with this part!

Once the beef is cooked, remove to cutting board and ‘tent’ it with foil to rest and set the juices.

Meanwhile, in a sauce pan, add package of dark gravy mix. Strain juices and I like to use a separator to remove unwanted fat from the gravy. Add to the sauce pan, cook on medium until gravy thickens. If there is not enough dahlings, you can add water because the gravy is quite concentrated. Now add to taste cream to meld the flavours and lighten the gravy.

Carve roast into thin slices. Serve with mashed potatoes and Yorkshire puddings and veggie of your taste.

That’s it! Wasn’t that just so simple?

PS. Typically on a rib roast 1 bone counts for 2 servings, if this is a 3 bone rib roast, then it will serve 6.

About Carina aka Edwina Cooks

My name is Edwina Dahling! I am the alter ego of Carina. I'm so very happy to make your acquaintance. I’m not a chef, not a master of much..but I do know how to feed the masses with food that tempts even the greatest critics palates so I’ve been told! I decided to start a blog after many have told me to WRITE IT DOWN! Okay Okay..I’ll write them down, if I don’t forget what I put in the pot by the time I post! My latest adventure in my culinary travels has been to eat to reduce pain and inflammation in the body. No gluten, no sugar, no dairy. I will create my own recipes as well as blog about the experience of living with chronic Lyme disease or other auto immune issues. Cheers and hears to great health! NO TO GMO!

One response »

  1. Dahling, you are the Queen of Coke Roasts! So delicious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

