RSS Feed

Greek braised Lamb Shanks

shank

Hello my lovelies!

I’ve had some ask me to post my recipe for braised lamb shanks recently, so I thought mmm, yes one of my favorite dishes and I wanted to share it with you all! You can thank me after you’ve cooked it! 🙂

First of all, I’d like to remind you that good food does take time! If you are crunched for time, don’t rush this one as you will not be as happy with the end results. I recommend  you pop this in the oven at least 4 hrs before you intend to serve.

I don’t claim to be Greek, in fact I don’t brush my teeth with Hummus ..ever! This is,  however, my all time favorite Greek dish and after playing around with the recipes for years..I think I’ve finally got it!

Ingredients:

Serves 4

4 Spring lamb shanks (cleaned and silver skin and access fat removed)

1 head of Garlic minced – yes ONE HEAD, don’t worry, it will meld into the flavors cooking for so long a time

Juice of 3-4 lemons or 1 cup fresh lemon juice

Fresh or dried rosemary – dried use a handful, fresh 4 stalks

2 Tbsp dried oregano

1/4 c dry white wine

Water if necessary to bring liquid up to middle of the shank

Sea Salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

photo (25)

Rub all ingredients except the liquids generously all over the lamb. Some at this point believe they should be browned previous to braising, I beg to differ, I’ve found this is the juiciest and tastiest way.

Place the lamb into a roasting pan and add wet ingredients topping with water if necessary to make sure the shanks are covered about halfway with liquid.

Cover tightly with foil and place in the oven moderate to low heat. I recommend 325 F degrees.
Leave them to cook for at least one hour, take them out and make sure they are not drying out, if so add more lemon and water. Turn them over at this time. You can repeat this each hour, but if its too tedious, just check liquid levels so the lamb won’t dry out ..or burn!

Lamb will show as done after about 1.5 hours, but the longer it cooks in the bath of lovely lemon, garlic and wine the better!! I recommend no more than 3.5-4 hours as the meat will begin to separate and fall off the bone.  Baste the sauce over the lamb in between glasses of wine..you can do it!

To Serve

1 shank per person

with..

Lemon Potatoes (recipe with my lemon chicken)

Tzatziki dip (also on my page)

Hearty Greek Salad (recipe to come!)

ENJOY!

About Carina aka Edwina Cooks

My name is Edwina Dahling! I am the alter ego of Carina. I'm so very happy to make your acquaintance. I’m not a chef, not a master of much..but I do know how to feed the masses with food that tempts even the greatest critics palates so I’ve been told! I decided to start a blog after many have told me to WRITE IT DOWN! Okay Okay..I’ll write them down, if I don’t forget what I put in the pot by the time I post! My latest adventure in my culinary travels has been to eat to reduce pain and inflammation in the body. No gluten, no sugar, no dairy. I will create my own recipes as well as blog about the experience of living with chronic Lyme disease or other auto immune issues. Cheers and hears to great health! NO TO GMO!

Leave a Reply

