RSS Feed

Caldo Verde (Eat your Kale Soup!)

Caldo Verde (Eat your Kale Soup!)

So lately I’ve been eating healthier Leaving out gluten and dairy. I’ve started to buy organic ingredients to feel healthy. Now what I’m finding is a lot of  the food I grew up with was all that! So my new recipes will be a trip down my Mediterranean lane.. Hehe get it? 😉

This kale soup is not only healthy but ohh so nummy! It’s rich and full of flavor. Let me know what you think!!

Caldo Verde
Portuguese kale soup
image

1/2 onion chopped finely
3-4 cloves garlic minced
3 T olive oil
2 fresh chorizo sausage sliced 1/2″
3-4 potatoes finely chopped
1 carton organic low sodium chicken stock
2 c. Finely minced organic kale

Sauté onions until soft. Add garlic and sauté a bit longer.
Add potatoes and sausage and cook until sausage is about half done.
Add stock and cover pot. Let it cook until potatoes are very done. I like some texture so I take a fork and mash just the potatoes until the soup is a creamy consistency. You can also leave out the chorizo and add after potatoes are cooked and purée for a silkier texture.
Add the kale and cook for a further 15-20 min depending on how done you like it.
Add more water if necessary. Add s&p to taste.

About Carina aka Edwina Cooks

My name is Edwina Dahling! I am the alter ego of Carina. I'm so very happy to make your acquaintance. I’m not a chef, not a master of much..but I do know how to feed the masses with food that tempts even the greatest critics palates so I’ve been told! I decided to start a blog after many have told me to WRITE IT DOWN! Okay Okay..I’ll write them down, if I don’t forget what I put in the pot by the time I post! My latest adventure in my culinary travels has been to eat to reduce pain and inflammation in the body. No gluten, no sugar, no dairy. I will create my own recipes as well as blog about the experience of living with chronic Lyme disease or other auto immune issues. Cheers and hears to great health! NO TO GMO!

4 responses »

  1. Hello, Caldo Verde is a typical Portuguese soup. You can call this one a Kale soup but this is not the correct Caldo Verde recipe at all.
    On Caldo Verde, cabbage must be cut into very thin straps and does not use any kind of chicken stock at all. It is just chopped onions, potatoes, garlic, water, a little bit of olive oil and sliced chorizo (as you call it). When potatoes are cooked, take out the chorizo and use a electric wand, or similar, to reduce the soup to a puree. Now it is time to had the kale previously cut and washed. Let it cook for 5 minutes after boiling. When serving, add olive oil on bowl at taste, and sliced chourizo. Do not cook these ones, after serving. Enjoy the real Portuguse Caldo Verde.

    Reply
    • Thank you for your version. I don’t think I said that this was the typical or authentic Portuguese recipe. It is my take on it. I have to say having traveled to many different regions in Portugal, I’ve had caldo verde served as many different ways. I have toyed with the regular recipe and found this twist on it to be to my liking, that is what my blog is all about..my recipes. Perhaps you can try it for yourself and see.

      Reply
  2. I’m Portuguese-American and my favorite aunt was Tia Edwina. Your name plus kale soup bring back fond memories. Never mind what other people say, your version sounds delicious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

